The Santa Barbara County Psychological Association (SBCPA) includes approximately 150 licensed psychologists, registered psychological assistants, and student members within Santa Barbara County.


Our Santa Barbara County Psychological Association is administered by a volunteer Board of Directors and a group of committee chairs. The officers are elected by the general membership annually and are installed in office at an annual dinner meeting of the membership. The board meets on a monthly basis, and attendance is open to all SBCPA members.

Click here to view SBCPA Board Meeting agendas and minutes


Founded as a informal group in 1947, some Santa Barbara psychologists began to work within the community addressing local mental health problems and the broader spectrum of professional interests. In 1977 SBCPA became a chapter of the California Psychological Association (CPA), a state association of the American Psychological Association (APA). The APA is the national psychological association with over 159,000 psychologists, and SBCPA members follow the ethical standards and guidelines for professional practice set forth by APA.


2017 Board of Directors

Position Name Phone Number Email Address
President Dr. Laura Ciel 805-624-6704 drlaura@drlauraciel.com
President Elect Dr. Ron Pilato 415-867-4698 ronpilato@antioch.edu
Past-President Dr. Kimberley Taylor 805-969-0153drkimtaylor805@gmail.com
Secretary Dr. Megan Donahue 805-886-8208info@drmegandonahue.com
Treasurer Dr. Eric Nelson 805-835-5389 ernelson@westmont.edu
Local Advocacy Network Chair
Dr. Dean Given 805-880-3566drg@sbbh.net
Student Representative Allie Wroblewski, M.Ed 515-480-8640 allie.wroblewski@gmail.com
Membership Committee Chair Dr. Cecile Lyons 805-456-2858 drlyons@cecilelyonsphd.com
Website Committee Chair Dr. Karen Lehman 805-320-0782  dr.karen.lehman@gmail.com 
Social Committee Chair Dr. Denise Mock805-845-4688denise@drdenisemock.com
Community and Media Relations Committee Chair Dr. Betsy Bates Freed 805-979-3440 betsy@drbatesfreed.com
Ethics Committee Chair
Dr. Christina Donaldson 805-657-0847 dr.christinadonaldson@gmail.com
Salon/Continuing Education Committee Chair Dr. Sandra Kenny805-722-0519 drsandrakenny@gmail.com
Disaster Committee Chair

© 2012 SBCPA. Designed by POP
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software